d

Philosophy and Science-Themed T-Shirts!

In art on 02/09/2011 at 11:47 pm

It’s difficult for anyone working in philosophy to find a nice casual philosophy-themed shirt. A few years ago, I picked up this most awesome shirt:

I’ve just learned that the company behind the shirt, Amorphia Apparel, has come out with a new line of t-shirts. And they are awesome. Most of them use the instantly recognizable font of some of my favorite punk and metal bands, mashed together with famous philosophers and scientists. I think I’ll have to pick up a copy of this one soon, seeing as I rate Hume as one of the greatest philosophers …

I’m just sad that there’s no Popper shirt. What would it even look like? I decided to make a quick mock-up Popper-logo in an homage to Iron Maiden.

//

  1. That Wittgenstein shirt is calling out to me and slowly grabbing the cash out of my wallet. But now I’m also trapped in a small buridan case between the wittgenstein and the tesla/edison shirt. I guess sooner or later I’ll probably just starve to death or flip a coin, which ever solves the problem first.

  2. I want one with Metrodorus’s quote: “None of us knows anything, not even this, whether we know or we do not know; nor do we know what ‘to not know’ or ‘to know’ are, nor on the whole, whether anything is or is not.”

  3. I once found an adorable finger puppet lying on the ground, a cat. Eventually I looked inside of it and saw on the tag that its name is “Schrödinger’s Cat” and was made by the Unemployed Philosopher’s Guild, who sell all sorts of similar philosophical frivolities. There must be a good market for that sort of thing.

    • I remember having a teacher in high school with a literary-themed set of finger puppets. Might have been the same group. So far, I’m unimpressed with the quality of their product.

Leave a Reply

